Skip to main content

Graduate Fellowships

Each year the Center has awarded full graduate fellowships to advanced students in the Department of History. The Center provides the stipend, while The Graduate School provides the tuition.  A faculty committee within the department selects these scholars. Recipients are ordinarily excused from normal teaching duties and are expected to organize a one-day graduate conference with an outside keynote speaker, as well as to help manage other Center activities (see I).

In addition, the Center collaborates with Evanston and Chicago institutions to provide History graduate students with paid summer research projects (see II). For past Graduate Fellows, scroll down.


The three Center Graduate Fellows are now known as the T.H. BREEN Graduate Fellows, in honor of the founding Director of the Center and eminent colonial American historian, Timothy Hall Breen. The Center also co-sponsors one QUINN Fellowship in conjunction with the Doris G. Quinn Foundation.

2020-2021 T.H. BREEN FELLOWS
2020-2021 QUINN FELLOW in collaboration with the Doris G. Quinn Foundation

Grad Fellows 2019-20

2019-2020 T.H. BREEN FELLOWS
2019-2020 QUINN FELLOW in collaboration with the Doris G. Quinn Foundation


The CCHS is able to support summer research for graduate students working in Evanston/Chicago non-profit organizations, such as museums, history centers, theatres, etc. We have had summer research projects affiliated with the Chicago History Museum, the Evanston History Center, and Chicago theatres. If you have identified an organization, for which you would like to work on a specific research project and need financial support, please contact us.

The CCHS can offer up to THREE summer fellowships for History graduate students. The Center will pay a summer stipend of up to $3,000 (non-taxable) or as taxable Special Pay ($30 per hour). The summer stipend would presume work @ $30 per hour, so about 100 hours over the course of the summer, i.e. some 25 hours/week for 4 weeks or 10 hours/week for 10 weeks. If you wish to do summer research for a non-profit Chicagoland organization and need support, let us know. Please send inquiries to Elzbieta Foeller-Pituch at We ask for a short written report after the fellowship is over.

Summer 2020 fellowships:

In the summer of 2019 the Center sponsored

Holly DAYTON at Timeline Theatre (working on the play Oslo), Gideon COHN-POSTAR at the Chicago Council on Global Affairs, and Guangshuo YANG at the Chicago Leather Archives and Museum.

In the summer of 2018 the Center sponsored

 3 fellowships at the Chicago History Museum, working on online projects at : Alvita AKIBOH—on the Ferris Wheel and /or Union Station, Ryan BURNS—on the World’s Columbian Exposition, and Charlotte ROSEN— on the DNC 1968. 

In the summer of 2017 the Center sponsored

Summer 2016

Summer 2015

In the summer of 2015 Samuel KLING started the Evanston Digital Newspaper project, while Andrew BAER won a 2014 summer graduate internship at the Chicago History Museum, where in collaboration with the CHM and Google Cultural Institute he curated the online exhibit “Chicago 1968: Law and Disorder,” which presents photographs, primary documents, and images of physical artifacts related to the Democratic National Convention in Chicago in August 1968.



2018-19 BREEN FELLOWS: Kevin BAKER, Jessica BIDDLESTONE, and Aram SARKISIAN / QUINN Fellow: Keith Allan CLARK II;

2017-2018 BREEN FELLOWS: Ryan Burns, Bonnie Ernst, and Emily Curtis Walters / QUINN FELLOW: Alexandra Thomas;

2016-2017 BREEN FELLOWS: Michael Falcone, Mariah Hepworth, and Matt June / QUINN FELLOW: Yanqiu Zheng;

Grad Fellows 206-17 with Dirtector

2015-2016 BREEN FELLOWS: Alexandra Lindgren-Gibson, Nathaniel Mathews, and Sam Kling (digital and social media) / QUINN FELLOW: Teng Li ;

2014-2015 BREEN FELLOWS: Alex Hobson, Charles Keenan, and Keith Rathbone;

2013-2014: Andrea Felber Seligman and Jesse Nasta;

2012-2013: Neal T. Dugre and Michael Martoccio;

2011-2012: Teri Chettiar and Peter Thilly;

2010-2011: Theresa (Terri) Keeley and Andrew Wehrman;

2009-2010: Fernando Carbajal and Andreana Prichard;

2008-2009: Anne Koenig and Marygrace Tyrrell;

2007-2008: Laurence (Lonnie) Robbins and Strother Roberts;

2006-2007: Bettina Hessler.

Back to top