Skip to main content

Graduate Fellows

2023-2024 T.H. Breen and Quinn Fellows

T.H. Breen Graduate Fellows
CCHS Graduate Quinn Fellow

Summer 2023 Fellowships

  1. Elizabeth BARAHONA—Chicago History Museum
  2. John Miles BRANCH—Shorefront Legacy Center (Evanston)
  3. Alexandra DE LEON—OBON Society (remote)
  4. Jose GALVAN MORA—Chicago History Museum
  5. Mila KAUT—Newberry Library (Chicago)
  6. Heather MENEFEE—DOI (Dakhóta Iápi Okhódakičhiye)
  7. Christopher MONTAGUE (AFAM)—Frances Willard House (Black Women of the WCTU)
  8. Victoria PHAM—Vietnamese Association of Chicago
  9. John POLLARD—Gerber/Hart Library and Archives (Chicago)
  10. Mary Kate ROBBETT— Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum (ALPLM) in Springfield, IL (Sept.-Oct.)
  11. Kenneth SALTER— Frances Willard House (Black Women of the WCTU)
  12. Melody SHUM—FIT (Friends for International Tuberculosis Relief)
  13. Hannah SIMMONS—Feminist Campus Tour (NU Women’s Center)
  14. Mikala STOKES— Frances Willard House (Black Women of the WCTU)
  15. Marquis TAYLOR—Watch the Yard (online)

plus FALL (Sept.-Oct.) fellowship/internship at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum (ALPLM) in Springfield, IL—Mary Kate ROBBETT.

2022-2023 T.H. Breen and Quinn Fellows

Claire C Arnold studies the history of modern Europe, focusing on global Britain. Her dissertation, titled “The Demands of Distance: British Families in the World, 1810-1900” argues that middle-class families played a crucial role in extending the British power within and beyond the empire with implications for both the shape of the British world and families themselves. Her research interests include the family, migration, and empire, as well as the relationship between commercial and imperial networks. She convened a graduate conference in Spring 2023 on “Commercial Networks: Connections, Conversations, Conflicts.”

Emily Lyon is a historian of the late-19th and early-20th century United States. Her dissertation focuses on empire, visual culture, and race & gender, analyzing how white women photographers, mapmakers, travel writers, filmmakers, and artists sustained US colonial power between 1870 and 1930 across different geographical sites of empire in the Pacific, Caribbean, and North American continent. She is also interested in the digital humanities and public history. As the T.H. Breen Digital Media Fellow, she worked on a project to curate collections of digitized primary sources to be used in classrooms at Northwestern and beyond. 

Matthew Wong Foreman—dissertation, "Science and Security: Constructing the Modern Chinese Citizen, 1900-1966" examines the historical conditions through which the concept "mixed-blood" emerged in the Chinese imagination alongside the political-intellectual construction of Chinese citizenship. 


Summer 2022 graduate fellowships
  1. Alison CHOI—Korean-American organization GYOPO
  2. Dexter FERGIE—Parkway Village Oral History project
  3. Matthew FOREMAN—Dui Hua organization
  4. Bennett HERSON-ROESER—Omohundro Institute for Early American History and Culture
  5. Caitlin MONROE—AHA project on “Teaching Things: Material Culture in the History Classroom”

2021-2022 T.H. Breen and Quinn Fellows

Breen Conference Fellows:
  1. Chernoh BAH—conference on “Global Perspectives on the Prison and Systems of Punishment Across Time and Place from 15th Century to the Present”
  2. Guangshuo YANG—conference on “When They Became Pests: Social Othering of Human and Nonhuman Species in History”
Breen Digital Media Fellow:


Quinn Fellow in collaboration with the Doris G. Quinn Foundation

Lois HAO—dissertation on “Destined to Marry?—Marriage Renunciation and Reform for Women in Republican China”

Summer 2021 graduate fellowships
  1. Hope McCAFFERY—Colored Conventions Project (CCP) with Prof. Kate Masur
  2. Mikala STOKES—CCP
  3. Marquis TAYLOR—CCP
  4. Lois HAO—Chicago History Museum
  5. Alexandrea KEITH—South Side Community Art Center (SSCAC)
  6. Emily LYON—Rogers Park and West Ridge Historical Society
  7. Heather MENEFEE—Dakhóta Iápi Okhódakičhiye
  8. John POLLARD—Gerber/Hart Library and Archives in Chicago
  9. Melody SHUM—East-West Center in Hawaii
  10. Rita VELASCO—Arizona Historical Society (AZHS)